PF Collins

Transcript

MP4 Format

Transcript:

(On screen: Boosting Productivity Through Digital Technology Adoption)

(On screen: PF Collins, a full service customs broker and logistics firm, started working with NRC-IRAP in August 2012, when they realized the need to implement a digitally-based information system to keep up with rapid growth, increasing competition and to meet client needs.)

(On screen: NRC-IRAP provided the support they needed to successfully integrate an electronic document management system.)

(On screen: Here is their story.)

Bernard Collins: We started off as a custom’s broker some many years ago. My grandfather started the business and so we have evolved with a suite of services now that we have captured under International Trade Solutions So we provide the custom’s services, freight forwarding,. warehousing, immigration services and marine agency and consulting services and related services in that field.

Sharlene: Internally, we actually record and keep documents on record for seven years. This results in a high volume of paper for storage and distribution to our clients. Just for an example, if a client called in and wanted to question an invoice, we would have to hang up the phone, run downstairs, enter the file room, retrieve the document and call them back which could be ten minutes later because of course along the we probably would have had another two phone calls in between all of that. So with the new electronic document system, we can actually respond to the client queries on the phone and everything is a fingertip away. If you just want to look up a document, you just put in your information and it comes available in two seconds.

Bernard Collins: The implementation of digital solutions for our documentation has seen a significant increase in the productivity of our staff, the accuracy and quality of different documentation and also the ability to retrieve and meet client demand and satisfaction with regards to additional questions that may come out of our documentation requirements.

Sharlene: Some of the challenges that were faced during our project, I guess the biggest one would be the resistance to change. I guess how we sort of overcame that resistance to change with the staff is actually to communicate to them throughout the whole project itself. The implementation I think was a success due to assigning a project manager. The project manager actually communicated with the whole team and selected the members of the team which were actually people that were working in the department. I think it is very important to make sure that anyone who is on the team is actually people who work with the system itself so that when we roll it out and go live, they are aware of the system that they are going to be working with every day.

Bernard: As we continue to expand the utilization of the electronic documentation, we see a broader scope for our warehousing operation with regards to receipt and inventory control systems that are in place. We also expanded in being able to support many of our agents and clients that we serve internationally. That documentation is easier to disseminate around the world and we can ensure the accuracy of that documentation.

(On screen: DTAPP was created as a pilot program to deliver support from November 2011 to March 31, 2014 and was delivered by the National Research Council of Canada Industrial Research Assistance Program)

PF Collins

Transcription

MP4 Format

Transcription :

(À l'écran : Stimulez la productivité grâce à l'adoption de technologies numériques)

(À l'écran : PF Collins est une entreprise qui offre des services de courtage en douane et de logistique. Elle a commencé à travailler avec le PARI-CNRC en août 2012 après avoir constaté qu’elle devait implanter un système numérique d’information pour soutenir sa croissance rapide, affronter la concurrence grandissante et satisfaire aux besoins de ses clients.)

(À l'écran : Le PARI-CNRC a fourni le soutien nécessaire afin d’intégrer un système électronique de gestion de documents.)

(À l'écran : Voici son histoire.)

Bernard Collins : Nous avons commencé comme courtier en douane, il y a plusieurs années. C’est mon grand-père qui a fondé l’entreprise, on a ajouté des services au fil du temps et nous sommes devenus International Trade Solutions. On offre des services de courtage de douane, de transport de marchandises, d’entreposage, des services d’immigration, de bureau de la marine, des services-conseils et d’autres services dans ce secteur.

Sharlene : À l’interne, on enregistre et conserve nos documents pendant sept ans. Vous pouvez imaginer le volume de papier qu’on conserve et qu’on envoie à nos clients. Par exemple, quand un client appelait et posait une question sur une facture, on devait le rappeler plus tard. Il fallait descendre au sous-sol, aller dans la salle de classement, chercher le document pour pouvoir rappeler le client. Ça pouvait parfois prendre dix minutes car entretemps, on avait souvent eu deux autres appels. Avec le nouveau système électronique, on peut répondre aux questions des clients tout de suite, tout est à portée de la main. Pour consulter un document, on n’a qu’à entrer l’information nécessaire et on y a accès en deux secondes.

Bernard Collins : L’implantation de solutions numériques pour notre documentation a haussé la productivité de nos employés et la qualité des différents documents. On est maintenant capable de répondre aux questions des clients de façon satisfaisante.

Sharlene : La résistance au changement a été une des plus grandes difficultés qu’on a rencontrées durant le projet. Je crois qu’on a réussi à vaincre cette résistance en communiquant souvent avec les employés tout au long du projet. L’implantation a été réussie aussi parce qu’on avait assigné un gestionnaire de projet. C’est lui qui communiquait avec l’équipe et qui a choisi les personnes qui travaillaient dans le service. Je pense qu’il est très important que les membres de l’équipe soient des gens qui travaillent directement avec le système pour s’assurer que lors de sa mise en fonction, ils le connaissent un peu plus.

Bernard : Comme on continue à étendre l’utilisation des documents électroniques, on voit qu’on pourrait élargir les activités du système pour soutenir le contrôle des stocks et de la réception. Le système nous permet aussi de soutenir de nombreux agents et clients internationaux. Il est maintenant plus facile de diffuser l’information partout au monde et garantir l’exactitude des documents.

(À l'écran : Le PPATN a été créé pour offrir des services de soutien de novembre 2011 à la fin mars 2014 et était exécuté par le Programme d’aide à la recherché industrielle du Conseil national de recherches du Canada)