HealthConnect

Transcript

MP4 Format

Transcript:

(On screen: Boosting Productivity Through Digital Technology Adoption)

(On screen: HealthConnect, a Canadian company that provides services to the pharmaceutical industry, started working with NRC-IRAP in May 2012 in order to implement a digitally-based knowledge management system to meet increasing demands in an international marketplace.)

(On screen: NRC-IRAP provided the support they needed to successfully integrate an electronic workflow management and performance system.)

(On screen: Here is their story.)

Al Pendergast: Now Health Connect has been in business for over 20 years. It started off as a very small consulting company providing project management services to the pharmaceutical industry and it has developed into a business of over 40 employees providing services to some of the largest pharmaceutical companies in the world. The issue that this business was faced with was the issue with regulations within the pharmaceutical industry. It had to adopt new digital technologies to ensure that it met the safety requirements that are required within the industry.

Courtney: Whenever we had a client request or a new project, unfortunately with the prior system that we had, it would take quite a while for the changes to take effect. It was complicated for our IT department programming wise. A lot of surveys, questionnaires, scripts, just the basic tools that they needed to do their job were stored on the server or even whether it was paper based…So that was becoming quite challenging for them. They needed something where they could have everything at their fingertips to do their job.

Al Pendergast: There are three things that we consider to be important in this exercise. The first is the modernization of this business was absolutely important for it to break through to the next stage of growth. Second, change management is critical in any program. I think from a lessons learned perspective, we learned a few change management lessons as you often do in projects of this size. Third, every initiative of this size needs to be managed as a project with very specific milestones, planned, tracked.

Courtney : The project implementation team was very important to the success of this project and just to ensure that we met the scope of the project and the timelines. It was a matter of juggling priorities, trying to make sure that we could still keep up with day to day operations. It is all about communication, communicating between the programmers, the account manager, myself, the project manager and ultimately getting input from the end users throughout the whole process.

Al Pendergast: There was a critical point in the implementation of the project. It was really right at the end of the design phase and before we started implementation that we took a sober look at ourselves. This business is a small company with not a lot of experience in implementing a new database infrastructure. So it was at that point that we engaged with an external consultant, a true expert, a person who had been through multiple implementations of new database technology and that was a critical success factor in this project.

Courtney: This new system has made jobs a lot easier. Now that we can get everything we need into one system, it improve efficiency. People get their jobs done in a much less complicated way. Ultimately, in the contact centre it is improving customer service tremendously.

Al Pendergast: The primary benefits today that we are seeing is first and foremost the compliance. It is an industry compliance solutions that is auditable to meet the requirements of the industry. The second is employee quality of work is facilitated through the use of the system. A big part of the implementation of the system is improving the time of implementation for new contracts. That is really one of the key components of this system and what we set out to do with the initial design. So for us, this system gives us the ability to do that. In fact, we are in the process of implementing a new client now in an implementation which would normally take us into the 60 day timeframe, it is taking us a 30 day window. And the clients require that, that is where the opportunity for us exists, being able to implement a new client in a more standardized fashion really enables us to have a market advantage.

(On screen: DTAPP was created as a pilot program to deliver support from November 2011 to March 31, 2014 and was delivered by the National Research Council of Canada Industrial Research Assistance Program)

Date modified:

HealthConnect

Transcription

MP4 Format

Transcription :

(À l'écran : Stimulez la productivité grâce à l'adoption de technologies numériques)

(À l'écran : HealthConnect est une entreprise canadienne qui fournit des services à l’industrie pharmaceutique. Elle a commencé à travailler avec le PARI-CNRC en mai 2012 en vue d’implanter des systèmes numériques de gestion du savoir pour répondre à une demande croissante sur le marché mondial.)

(À l'écran : Le PARI-CNRC lui a offert le soutien dont elle avait besoin pour intégrer avec succès un système de gestion de flux de travail et de rendement.)

(À l'écran : Voici son histoire.)

Al Pendergast : HealthConnect est en affaires depuis plus de 20 ans. À ses débuts, l’entreprise était un petit cabinet d’experts-conseils qui offrait des services de gestion de projet au secteur pharmaceutique. Aujourd’hui, l’entreprise, qui a plus de 40 employés, compte parmi ses clients quelques-unes des plus grandes sociétés pharmaceutiques au monde L’enjeu auquel l’entreprise faisait face était celui de la réglementation du secteur pharmaceutique. HealthConnect devait s’adapter à l’ère numérique pour répondre aux exigences en matière de sécurité de cette industrie.

Courtney : Avec l’ancien système, dès qu’un client avait une demande ou qu’un nouveau projet se présentait, il nous fallait malheureusement assez de temps pour nous adapter. C’était compliqué pour nos spécialistes de la TI en fait de programmation. Plusieurs sondages, questionnaires ou scripts, bref des outils de base nécessaires pour faire leur travail, étaient stockés sur le serveur ou, pire encore, n’existaient que sur support papier. Comme cela devenait très difficile pour eux, un système leur permettant d’avoir tous ces outils à portée de main était devenu nécessaire.

Al Pendergast : Il y a trois aspects à retenir de cet exercice. Premièrement, l’entreprise devait absolument se moderniser si elle voulait connaître une nouvelle phase d’expansion. Deuxièmement, la gestion du changement est cruciale dans tout programme. On a tiré des leçons de notre expérience en ce qui a trait à la gestion du changement, comme c’est souvent le cas dans des projets de cette ampleur. Troisièmement, toute initiative de cette envergure doit être gérée comme un projet avec des étapes très claires, que l’on planifie et dont on suit l’évolution.

Courtney : L’équipe de mise en œuvre a joué un rôle très important dans la réussite de la transformation, entre autres pour s’assurer de respecter la portée du projet et des échéances. Elle jonglait avec les priorités afin qu’on puisse continuer de soutenir le rythme des activités quotidiennes. Tout reposait sur la communication: la communication entre les programmeurs, le gestionnaire de compte, moi-même et le gestionnaire de projet sans oublier les utilisateurs finaux, dont on a sollicité les commentaires tout au long du processus.

Al Pendergast : Il y a eu un moment décisif au cours de la mise en œuvre du projet. À la toute fin de la phase de conception, juste avant de lancer la mise en œuvre, on a été forcé de constater que notre petite entreprise avait peu d’expérience dans la mise en place de nouvelles infrastructures informatiques. C’est à ce moment-là qu’on a retenu les services d’un consultant externe. Un véritable expert, qui avait une grande expérience en la matière. Cette décision a été un facteur déterminant dans la réussite de ce projet.

Courtney : Le nouveau système a beaucoup simplifié le travail de tout le monde. Comme tout ce qu’on a besoin est maintenant réuni au même endroit, on est plus efficace et le travail est moins compliqué. Ultimement, le service à la clientèle en profite grandement.

Al Pendergast : La conformité est le plus grand avantage qu’on a vu à ce jour. On a une solution de conformité vérifiable qui répond aux exigences de l’industrie. Ensuite, la qualité du travail des employés a été facilitée grâce à ce système. Un des principaux objectifs était d’accélérer le temps d’implantation de nouveaux contrats, et c’est une des principales forces de ce système. Il a réduit les délais. En fait, on procède en ce moment même à la mise en route d’un nouveau contrat. Cet exercice qui aurait normalement pris une soixantaine de jours nécessite maintenant que 30 jours. La clé du succès est dans la satisfaction des attentes. Et notre capacité de mettre des projets en marche d’une manière plus normalisée nous confère un atout indéniable sur le marché.

(À l'écran : Le PPATN a été créé pour offrir des services de soutien de novembre 2011 à la fin mars 2014 et était exécuté par le Programme d’aide à la recherché industrielle du Conseil national de recherches du Canada)