Question 1:

What are the National Model Construction Codes?

Answer to question 1:

The National Model Construction Codes comprise the National Building Code of Canada 2010 (NBC), National Fire Code of Canada 2010 (NFC), National Plumbing Code of Canada 2010 (NPC) and National Energy Code of Canada for Buildings 2011 (NECB). They also include the National Farm Building Code (last published in 1995).

The Codes are developed and maintained by the Canadian Commission on Building and Fire Codes (CCBFC), an independent committee of volunteers established by the National Research Council of Canada (NRC). They are published by NRC as models for provincial and territorial building and fire regulations and must be adopted by an authority having jurisdiction to come into effect. In some cases, they are amended and/or supplemented to suit regional needs, and then published as provincial Codes.

Question 2:

How are the Codes developed and updated?

Answer to question 2:

The Canadian Commission on Building and Fire Codes is responsible for developing and updating the National Model Construction Codes. It is assisted by nine standing committees and several task groups and working groups comprised of hundreds of volunteer members. The Codes are developed and updated using an extensive consensus-based process involving all sectors of the construction community and the public. This code development process benefits from the research, technical and administrative support of the NRC. Ongoing development and updating of the National Model Construction Codes is necessary so future editions can reflect improvements in technology, address emerging health and safety issues and generally continue to meet the evolving needs of the construction industry.

Question 3:

Have all the National Model Construction Codes been updated?

Answer to question 3:

The NBC, NFC, NPC and NECB have been updated.

The Model National Energy Code for Houses, last published in 1997, will no longer be published separately. Its provisions dealing with energy efficiency for housing and small buildings have been incorporated into a new section of Part 9 of the 2010 NBC and were published as interim changes in December 2012.

With respect to the National Farm Building Code, last published in 1995, a Joint Task Group of the CCBFC and the Provincial/Territorial Policy Advisory Committee on Codes has been established to set the format, scope and timetable for updating the technical requirements.

Question 4:

Have the intent statements been updated for the 2010 Codes? Are there any for the 2011 NECB?

Answer to question 4:

The intent statements pertaining to the 2010 Codes and the 2011 NECB are available, free of charge, on the NRC website at National Model Construction Codes and Guides/Provincial Codes. The application statements for the 2010 Codes have not been updated as the CCBFC has discontinued their publication.

Question 5:

How different are the 2010 Codes from the 2005 editions?

Answer to question 5:

Since the 2005 editions of the NBC, NFC and NPC, close to 800 technical changes have been incorporated in the 2010 editions to address technological advances and health and safety concerns. A summary of the major changes to these Codes is available on request.

Question 6:

Will revisions to the 2010 Codes/2011 NECB be published after they are released? If so how do I get the revisions?

Answer to question 6:

Revisions to the 2010 Codes and the 2011 NECB are available on request.

Question 7:

If I find something wrong with the Codes that needs to be changed, who do I tell and what do I do? OR I would like to make a change to the Codes. How do I forward this change and who do I forward it to?

Answer to question 7:

Any code user can submit technical inquiries or request a change to the national code documents. Information on how to do this can be found on the National Codes website under Technical enquiries and Request a code change.

Date modified: