ARCHIVED - Dr. Eliezer Gileadi Awarded the Herzberg Prize and Fellowship

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

March 04, 2004— Ottawa, Ontario


Dr. Eliezer Gileadi
Dr. Eliezer Gileadi

Dr. Eliezer Gileadi, Professor Emeritus of Chemistry at Tel-Aviv University was recently awarded the NRC's prestigious 2004 Herzberg Memorial Prize and Fellowship at a ceremony in Ottawa. He has distinguished himself as one of the most respected electrochemists in the world and will be sharing his expertise with the scientists at the NRC Institute for Chemical Process and Environmental Technology in Ottawa.

Dr. Gileadi's Research at NRC

Dr. Gileadi shared a number of thoughts with NRC concerning his approach to science, the fuel cell industry and his expectations of his time at NRC.
Read the following Questions & Answers to find out more.

This annual NRC honour is conferred upon active external researchers who have distinguished themselves through many years of outstanding achievement in a field that is relevant to NRC's programs. The award consists of a cash prize and a one-year fellowship tenable at one of NRC's institutes. Dr. Gileadi is familiar with Ottawa, having earned his PhD in Electrochemistry from the University of Ottawa in 1963. Since that time, he has taught at a number of respected academic Fuel Celland industrial institutions such as Johns Hopkins University (Baltimore), the Technical University of Dresden (Germany) and the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (Australia). At the present time, in addition to his position at Tel-Aviv University, Dr. Gileadi holds teaching positions at the University of Virginia and Case Western Reserve University. He is the winner of the 2003 Olin Paladium Medal Award of the Electrochemical Society.

Fuel Cell

Previous Herzberg Memorial Prize and Fellowship Award Winners and Participating Institutes

2003: Dr. Marek Potemski
NRC Institute for Microstructural Sciences

2002: Dr. Puragra Guhathakurta
NRC Herzberg Institute of Astrophysics

2001: Dr. Klaus Müller-Dethlefs
NRC Steacie Institute for Molecular Sciences

Dr. Gileadi has published 150 scientific papers in refereed journals, six chapters in books, one monograph and two textbooks on Interfacial Electrochemistry, his specialty. During his Herzberg Fellowship at NRC, Dr. Gileadi will be involved in fuel cell research, focusing mainly on materials research, such as the use of nano-particles for improved fuel cell catalysts.

Recommended Links

Enquiries: Media relations
National Research Council of Canada

Stay connected


Date modified: