H.L. Holmes Award for Post-Doctoral Studies

How to apply

The call for applications for the 2017 Award is now closed. The next call for applications will open in late 2018. Interested individuals may apply directly, or may be nominated by recognized universities or research organizations that are willing to help the candidates conduct their proposed research.

See additional information for applicants.

2017 Holmes Award winner

2017 Holmes Award winner has gone to Dr. Tsai for her research in biology underlying obesity, type-2 diabetes and how insulin resistance increases vulnerability to infection. Congratulations to Dr. Tsai! See the full article for more details.

The H.L. Holmes Award has been established by the National Research Council of Canada (NRC) in honour of the late Dr. R.H.L. Holmes, a chemist who spent most of his research career in Alberta.

Bequeathed by the late Dr. Holmes, in recognition of NRC's commitment to promote research excellence, the award gives recipients the opportunity to conduct post-doctoral studies under outstanding researchers at world famous graduate schools or research institutes. Research must be undertaken in chemistry, physics, biology or mathematics as they relate to medical and biological processes.

Financial support

Awards cover a one or two-year period, depending on available funding and the research proposal, and can have a monetary value of up to $100,000 CDN per year.

Role of the host organization

Host organizations are expected to provide support to award recipients. This could be in the form of facilities, equipment and/or operating resources, and by administering the Award funds.

The H.L. Holmes Award selection committee

The H.L. Holmes Award Selection Committee is chaired by NRC's Vice-President, Life Sciences. Members include NRC reviewers as well as two external reviewers.

Past recipients

  • 2017 - Sue Tsai
  • 2015 - Sun HaoSheng
  • 2013 - Arneet L. Saltzman
  • 2011 - Adam Shlien
  • 2009 - Bryan Davies
  • 2007 - Jennifer Estall
  • 2005 - Michael Cowan
  • 2003 - Alison Allan
  • 1997 - Suzanne Demczuk
  • 1994 - Carol Dallaire


For additional information, please contact:

Holmes Award Secretariat
Vice-President's Office, Life Sciences
National Research Council Canada
Email: Holmes.Award@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

Date modified: