Category: Sound Transmission

Airborne Sound Insulation in Multi-Family Buildings

This Update explains how an emphasis on system performance can achieve good sound insulation in multi-family buildings in a cost-effective manner. It reviews the concepts and terminology used to describe sound insulation for the complete building system, and presents research results that illustrate how typical wood-frame construction details can determine the sound insulation actually achieved.

Acoustical Design for Open-Plan Offices

This Update discusses how to achieve acceptable acoustical privacy in open-plan offices. The information is derived from current best practice and the results of research carried out by NRC’s Institute for Research in Construction.

Acoustical Design of Rooms for Speech

This Update explains the acoustical requirements conducive to relaxed and accurate speech communication in rooms and gives design criteria for a wide range of room sizes. Some special issues for particular types of rooms and special groups of listeners are discussed.

Specifying Acoustical Criteria for Buildings

This Update discusses the quantities that should be specified to ensure successful acoustics for complete rooms in buildings.

Successful building design depends as much on acoustical performance as it does on lighting and ventilation. Rooms where occupants cannot hear conversation because there is too much background noise or too much reverberation are failures. So too are rooms where occupants are distracted by intrusive sound from elsewhere.

Controlling the Transmission of Impact Sound through Floors

This Update presents guidelines for controlling the transmission of impact sound through concrete-slab and wood-joist floor systems in multi-family dwellings. It is based primarily on industry-supported research conducted by IRC.

Effect of Electrical Outlet Boxes on Sound Isolation of Gypsum Board Walls

This Update discusses the effect of electrical outlet boxes on the sound isolation of gypsum board walls and provides recommendations with respect to box type and location, and methods for improving existing boxes. The information is based on the results of an industry-supported research project conducted at the NRC’s Institute for Research in Construction.1

Controlling the Transmission of Airborne Sound through Floors

This Update explains how to best control airborne sound transmission through floor systems in multi-family dwellings. Focusing largely on joist floors, the information derives primarily from an industry-supported research project conducted by NRC’s Institute for Research in Construction (IRC).1,2

Sound Isolation and Fire Resistance of Assemblies with Fire Stops

This Update examines various fire-stopping techniques that meet the intent of the National Building Code of Canada (NBC) with respect to fire resistance and that do not adversely affect the sound isolation of the wall assembly. The information is derived from the results of an industry-sponsored consortium project led by the National Research Council’s Institute for Research in Construction (IRC).1

Controlling Sound Transmission through Concrete Block Walls

This Update discusses the various factors that affect sound transmission through different types of concrete block walls, including single-leaf walls, double-leaf walls and walls with gypsum board attached. Knowledge of these factors will assist construction practitioners to design and build walls with high levels of acoustic performance economically.

Control of Sound Transmission through Gypsum Board Walls

This Update explains how to achieve effective control of sound transmission through gypsum board walls in multi-family dwellings. The information is derived from the results of an exhaustive industry-supported research project conducted by NRC’s Institute for Research in Construction (IRC).1,2

Catégorie : Transmission acoustique

Isolation aux sons aériens dans les immeubles d’habitation

Cet article explique comment une attention accrue à la performance des systèmes permet d’améliorer l’isolation acoustique des immeubles d’habitation, et ce, de façon économique. On y passe en revue les notions et la terminologie associées à l’isolation acoustique dans un système de bâtiment complet et on y présente des résultats de recherche qui illustrent l’importance de certains détails typiques des constructions à ossature en bois sur l’isolation acoustique.

Acoustique des bureaux à aire ouverte

Ce numéro traite des moyens à mettre en oeuvre pour assurer une intimité acoustique acceptable dans les bureaux à aire ouverte. L’information présentée ici est tirée des meilleures pratiques actuelles et des résultats des recherches effectuées par l’Institut de recherche en construction du CNRC.

La conception acoustique de salles destinées à la communication orale

Cet article traite des spécifications acoustiques permettant une communication orale détendue et précise, ainsi que des critères de conception pour des salles de taille différente. Nous abordons certains aspects propres à des types de salles et des auditoires particuliers.

Specifying Acoustical Criteria for Buildings

La bonne conception d’un bâtiment dépend autant de sa performance acoustique que de son éclairage ou de sa ventilation. Les pièces dans lesquelles les occupants ne peuvent avoir une conversation parce que le bruit de fond est trop élevé ou qu’il y a trop de réverbération sont donc mal conçues. On peut faire le même constat des locaux dans lesquels les occupants sont distraits par des bruits dérangeants extérieurs.

Comment réduire la transmission des bruits d’impact par les planchers

Cet article trace des lignes directrices en vue de réduire les bruits d’impact transmis par les planchers de béton et les planchers à solives de bois dans les habitations multifamiliales. Il s’appuie principalement sur la recherche menée par l’IRC1, en collaboration avec l’industrie.

Comment réduire la transmission du son aérien par les planchers

Cet article indique les meilleurs moyens à prendre pour réduire la transmission du son aérien par les planchers, dans les habitations collectives. Portant surtout sur les planchers à solives ou poutrelles, l’information est issue principalement d’un projet de recherche financé par le secteur privé et réalisé par l’Institut de recherche en construction (IRC) du CNRC1,2.

Isolement acoustique et résistance au feu des ensembles comportant des coupe-feu

Cet article porte sur différentes techniques coupe-feu qui sont conformes à l’esprit du Code national du bâtiment du Canada (CNB) en matière de résistance au feu et qui ne réduisent pas l’isolement acoustique des murs. L’information est issue d’un projet piloté par l’Institut de recherche en construction (IRC) du Conseil national de recherches du Canada (CNRC) dans le cadre d’un consortium parrainé par l’industrie1.

Contrôle de la transmission du son par les murs en blocs de béton

Cet article traite des divers facteurs qui influent sur la transmission du son à travers différents types de murs en blocs de béton, dont les murs simples, les murs doubles et les murs revêtus de plaques de plâtre. Une bonne connaissance de ces facteurs aidera les spécialistes à concevoir et à construire économiquement des murs présentant des niveaux élevés de performance acoustique.

Réduction de la transmission du son par les cloisons en plaques de plâtre

On explique ici comment réduire la transmission acoustique par les cloisons en plaques de plâtre, dans les habitations multifamiliales. Cette information est tirée du compte rendu d’un vaste projet de recherche réalisé par l’Institut de recherche en construction (IRC) du CNRC, en collaboration avec le secteur privé1,2.