Utilisation des marquages photoluminescents pour les voies d’issue

Contenu archivé

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Solution constructive no 78, sept 2011

[Format PDF]

par Noureddine Bénichou et Guylène Proulx

L’utilisation de systèmes de signalisation photoluminescente dans les bâtiments est aujourd’hui largement répandue en Amérique du Nord, où ils sont désormais reconnus comme de précieux dispositifs d’évacuation lors des pannes d’électricité ou d’éclairage de secours. La présente Solution constructive décrit les caractéristiques et l’installation des marquages photoluminescents.

Edifice C.D. Howe d'Ottawa

Edifice C.D. Howe d'Ottawa

Introduction

Les marquages photoluminescents sont utilisés pour faciliter l’évacuation des bâtiments en cas de panne d’électricité ou d’éclairage de secours, comme l’illustre le guide d’installation de systèmes de signalisation photoluminescente publié par l’Institut de recherche en construction du Conseil national de recherches du Canada (IRC-CNRC). L’objet de la présente Solution constructive est de donner un aperçu de ce guide et de l’information sur les propriétés, les applications, les critères de performance et l’installation des marquages photoluminescents dans les bâtiments.

Au Canada, les marquages photoluminescents ont été développés pour les immeubles de bureaux fédéraux, mais leur utilisation s’est aujourd’hui étendue à tous les bâtiments dont les cages d’escaliers servent de voie d’issue pour l’évacuation des occupants. Les marquages photoluminescents ne remplacent pas, mais complètent les autres signalisations de secours requises par le Code national du bâtiment du Canada, et leur installation doit, dans tous les cas, être vérifiée et approuvée par les autorités compétentes.

Propriétés des marquages photoluminescents

Les marquages photoluminescents ont la propriété d’absorber l’énergie lumineuse, de restituer la lumière longtemps après l’extinction de la source lumineuse de leur excitation et de se recharger une fois réexposés à la lumière. Ces marquages ne sont pas conçus pour éclairer un itinéraire d’évacuation sombre, mais pour servir de panneaux de direction luminescents et délimiter l’itinéraire d’évacuation et les escaliers, rampes et obstacles qui le jalonnent, pour permettre aux occupants de les discerner dans le noir.

Les marquages photoluminescents ont d’abord été utilisés dans des constructions isolées, comme les plates-formes offshores. Leur utilité a par la suite été démontrée dans les constructions urbaines, notamment dans les immeubles de bureaux, comme dans les deux anciennes tours du World Trade Center. Les essais réalisés dans l’édifice CD Howe d’Ottawa ont persuadé les autorités canadiennes à continuer d’étudier leur utilité dans divers autres édifices fédéraux. Pendant les coupures d’électricité causées par les pannes de courant, les incendies et autres situations d’urgence, les marquages photoluminescents, sous forme de peinture, de bandes plastiques ou de panneaux, facilitent l’évacuation en guidant et en dirigeant les occupants vers des sorties de secours et des lieux sûrs identifiés.

Principes de conception d’un système de signalisation photoluminescente

La conception et l’installation des marquages photoluminescents est régie par de nombreux principes. Ils doivent être installés et espacés de manière cohérente et continue le long des itinéraires d’évacuation.

Le Guide d’installation de systèmes de signalisation photoluminescente dans les cages d’escaliers de bâtiments recommande d’installer les marquages photoluminescents sur les poignées de porte et autres dispositifs d’ouverture des issues de secours, les cadres de porte des issues de secours, les arêtes des marches d’escaliers, les paliers, les mains-courantes, les panneaux de signalisation des issues de secours et les obstacles. Le guide de l’IRC-CNRC recommande également d’installer des marquages photoluminescents continus dans toutes les cages d’escaliers d’évacuation. Les équipements d’urgence et de sécurité-incendie doivent être équipés de marquages photoluminescents appropriés, afin d’améliorer leur visibilité auprès des occupants et des secouristes.

Les marquages photoluminescents doivent clairement indiquer les destinations intermédiaires et la destination finale le long des parcours d’évacuation et doivent être fixés de manière à éviter toute ambiguïté ou confusion pendant l’évacuation. Ils ne doivent pas guider les occupants du bâtiment vers des voies sans issue mais vers des lieux sûrs identifiés.

Chaque étage doit être équipé d’un plan d’étage photoluminescent pour aider à orienter et guider les occupants. Pour éviter toute confusion, les panneaux et affiches qui ne sont pas destinés à l’évacuation des occupants, mais à renseigner le public ou à toute autre fin, ne doivent pas être fabriqués de matériaux photoluminescents. De plus, leurs dimensions et leurs couleurs devraient être différentes des marquages photoluminescents.

Les marquages photoluminescents doivent être de la couleur de la sécurité, qui est généralement vert/jaune (la couleur naturelle des pigments photoluminescents). La signalisation photoluminescente doit par ailleurs démontrer une luminance suffisante et contraster avec son environnement.

Il importe, à cette fin, de s’assurer de la capacité de l’éclairage ambiant d’activation à exciter et à charger les marquages.

Critères de performance obligatoires des marquages photoluminescents

Les matériaux des marquages photoluminescents doivent démontrer un niveau de luminosité minimal (L) de 30 mcd/m2 à 10 minutes, 7 mcd/cm2 à 60 minutes et 5 mcd/cm2 à 90 minutes, et leur résistance au lavage doit être testée conformément à la norme ASTM D 4828-1994 (2003), Standard Test Methods for Practical Washability of Organic Coatings*.

Les échantillons des matériaux des marquages photoluminescents testés avec flamme et sans flamme ne doivent pas présenter une toxicité supérieure à la limite fixée par la norme Bombardier SMP 800-C (Rev. 4, 11/1/2000), Test de toxicité de la fumée générée*, et leur radioactivité ne doit pas dépasser les limites fixées par la norme ASTM D 3648-2004, Standard Practices for the Measurement of Radioactivity*.

La propagation de la flamme des matériaux des marquages photoluminescents doit être testée conformément aux exigences de la norme ASTM E 162-2002, Standard Test Method for Surface Flammability of Materials Using a Radiant Heat Energy Source* ou de la norme ASTM D 635 2003, Standard Test Method for Rate of Burning and/or Extent and Time of Burning of Plastics in a Horizontal Position*.

Les matériaux doivent présenter une résistance à l’abrasion suffisante. Certaines peintures ou adhésifs en film minces peuvent suffire, lorsque les cages d’escaliers sont équipées d’un système d’alarme et ne servent qu’en cas d’urgence. Pour des escaliers fréquentés quotidiennement, il importe de prévoir des matériaux plus résistants. Le pouvoir antidérapant des matériaux des marquages photoluminescents ne doit pas être inférieur à celui de la surface sur laquelle il est apposé.

Tous les matériaux des marquages photoluminescents approuvés doivent être identifiés par leur numéro de modèle et avoir été testés et certifiés par un laboratoire indépendant. Les essais de conformité doivent porter sur le niveau de luminosité, la résistance au lavage, la toxicité, la radioactivité, la propagation de la flamme et l’éclairage ambiant d’activation.

* Ces normes, en référence dans le guide de l’IRC-CNRC, ont toutes été mises à jour ces dernières années.

Emplacement et installation des marquages photoluminescents

Les recommandations relatives à l’emplacement et à l’installation sont issues de l’étude réalisée par l’IRC-CNRC et Travaux publics et services gouvernementaux du Canada (TPSGC).

Portes d’issue et cages d’escaliers d’issue

Figure 1. Panneau d'issue de secours

Figure 1. Panneau d'issue de secours

Doivent être marquées :

  1. les portes qui ouvrent sur des issues ou sur des passages d’issue menant à des cages d’escaliers d’issue;
  2. les portes qui ouvrent sur des couloirs, quand ces couloirs sont des passages d’issue qui relient deux issues verticales;
  3. les portes qui servent d’issues horizontales.

Le marquage n’est pas requis pour les portes d’issue de l’entrée principale.

Les points d’entrée ou les portes qui donnent sur les cages d’escaliers d’issue doivent être signalés par un panneau photoluminescent vert sécurité portant le symbole d’issue de secours « l’homme qui court » (figure 1), conformément au Code national du Bâtiment - Canada 2010 (CNB 3.4.5.1)

Le panneau d’issue de secours doit être fixé à une hauteur maximale de 450 mm du sol, sur la porte ou sur le mur, à proximité immédiate de la porte, côté loquet (figure 2).

Les poignées et autres dispositifs d’ouverture des portes des issues de secours doivent être mises en évidence par un matériau photoluminescent. Les poignées de porte et les verrous doivent être signalés par des panneaux placés derrière la quincaillerie ou directement sur le poussoir, la barre ou le dispositif antipanique (figure 2). Les cadres des portes d’issues doivent être marqués sur leur périmètre par une bande photoluminescente (figure 2).

Le numéro de l’étage et le nom de la cage d’escalier doivent être identifiés par un panneau photoluminescent permanent fixé sur le mur, côté loquet de la porte qui ouvre sur la cage d’escaliers.

Figure 2. Panneau d’issue de secours fixé sur la porte (haut) ou sur le mur (bas)

Figure 2. Panneau d’issue de secours fixé sur la porte (haut) ou sur le mur (bas)

Escaliers d’issue

Les exigences minimales pour les escaliers d’issue comprennent des marquages à l’intérieur des « issues verticales » (p. ex., escaliers, rampes), sur les aires horizontales à l’intérieur des « issues verticales » (p. ex., paliers allongés ou corridors à l’intérieur d’une cage d’escalier), à l’intérieur des « issues horizontales » (p. ex., passerelles ou tunnels entre deux bâtiments), à l’intérieur des « issues verticales supplémentaires » (p. ex., escalier ou rampe à partir d’une aire de refuge), et à l’intérieur des « chemins d’issue » (p. ex., passage menant vers un espace extérieur à partir d’une cour). Les marquages ne sont pas nécessaires dans le cas des « halls d’entrée situés au rez-de-chaussée », des « escaliers extérieurs » ou des « balcons extérieurs ».

Les marches d’escalier doivent être marquées, sur toute leur largeur, d’une bande photoluminescente pleine et continue. L’emplacement, les dimensions et l’espacement des bandes photoluminescentes d’une même issue doivent être uniformes (figure 3). Les marquages doivent couvrir toute la largeur des marches et doivent éviter tout risque de trébucher ou de glisser.

Figure 3. Marquage des marches d’escalier

Figure 3. Marquage des marches d’escalier

L’extrémité avant des paliers (la plateforme à la tête de chaque volée d’escaliers, etc.) doit être marquée de façon uniforme le long du parcours d’évacuation. Les bandes photoluminescentes de l’extrémité avant des paliers doivent être de la même longueur et de la même couleur que les bandes des marches et s’étendre sur toute la largeur de l’extrémité du palier (figure 4).

Figure 4. Marquage de l’extrémité avant du palier

Figure 4. Marquage de l’extrémité avant du palier

Les mains courantes et leurs extensions doivent être marquées d’une bande photoluminescente pleine et continue. L’emplacement, les dimensions et l’espacement des bandes photoluminescentes doivent rester uniformes jusqu’au point final du parcours d’évacuation (figure 5).

Figure 5. Marquage de la main courante

Figure 5. Marquage de la main courante

Si les mains courantes et les rallonges sont courbées ou en angle, la bande devrait être aussi continue que possible. Un espace sans matériau photoluminescent n’excédant pas 100 mm est permis. Dans les bâtiments existants, où la nature du matériau ou sa conception rend difficile l’installation d’une bande photoluminescente sur le dessus de la main courante, les mains courantes fixées au mur peuvent être marquées d’une bande d’une largeur minimale de 90 mm de large placée derrière la main courante et en suivre le tracé.

Les paliers d’escaliers et autres sections de l’itinéraire d’évacuation doivent être délimités par des lignes de démarcation. Les lignes de démarcation peuvent être interrompues pour tenir compte des conduits, moulures, coins et autres courbes, mais leur discontinuité ne doit pas dépasser 100 mm. L’emplacement, les dimensions et l’espacement des bandes doivent rester uniformes à l’intérieur du même itinéraire d’évacuation. Les lignes de démarcation doivent être fixées sur le plancher ou sur le mur et autre surface verticale ou les deux.

Les paliers, paliers intermédiaires, passages et couloirs d’une cage d’escaliers doivent être marqués sur leur axe d’une bande photoluminescente continue (figures 6 et 7). Le sens de la sortie peut être signalé par un chevron noir ou transparent ou par une flèche d’une largeur de 25 mm, posés à chaque mètre et à chaque changement de sens. Le marquage des paliers par chevrons doit rester uniforme jusqu’au point final de l’itinéraire de sortie. Alternativement, les chevrons pourront être remplacés par une bande photoluminescente pleine et continue.

Figure 6. Marquage au sol des lignes de démarcation

Figure 6. Marquage au sol des lignes de démarcation

Figure 7. Marquage au mur des lignes de démarcation

Figure 7. Marquage au mur des lignes de démarcation

Les obstacles (colonnes montantes, armoires d’incendie, saillies murales, endroits bas de plafond, etc.) d’une hauteur de 1 980 mm ou moins situés à 100 mm ou plus à l’intérieur d’un itinéraire de sortie doivent être marqués d’une bande photoluminescente (figure 8).

Figure 8. Marquage des obstacles et des lignes de démarcation

Figure 8. Marquage des obstacles et des lignes de démarcation

Les portes des issues finales (portes qui mènent directement à l’extérieur du bâtiment ou à un hall d’entrée au rez-de-chaussée) doivent être signalées par un écriteau fixé à la porte et portant les inscriptions suivantes : « SORTIE FINALE », « SORTIE PAR LE HALL D’ENTRÉE », « SORTIE SUR LA RUE », « SORTIE RUE ST-JOSEPH », etc. (figure 9).

Figure 9. Sorties finales et intermédiaires

Figure 9. Sorties finales et intermédiaires

Autres marquages

Les marquages qui indiquent le numéro de l’étage ou le numéro/nom de l’escalier doivent être placés près des portes d’issue des cages d’escaliers. Les marquages qui indiquent la direction doivent être de couleur vert sécurité, y compris les panneaux « ÉTAGE DE TRANSFERT » et « ÉTAGE DE JONCTION » et doivent être installés à proximité des portes d’issue, chaque fois que l’accès à l’étage ou le transfert vers un autre moyen d’évacuation est permis.

Le guide de l’IRC-CNRC recommande d’ajouter des éléments de signalisation supplémentaires lorsque la direction à prendre n’est pas clairement indiquée. Les panneaux « SANS ISSUE » doivent être installés sur les portes qui conduisent aux voies sans issue (salle technique, placards, etc.) sur tout l’itinéraire d’évacuation. Dans les bâtiments où le toit n’est pas accessible aux occupants, les panneaux « PAS D’ACCÈS AU TOIT » doivent être fixés sur le mur des paliers intermédiaires tous les trois étages et à chacun des cinq derniers étages.

Entretien des marquages photoluminescents

En général, les marquages photoluminescents sont faits sur mesure et fixés à l’aide d’adhésifs permanents. Les propriétaires et gestionnaires d’immeubles sont tenus d’entretenir régulièrement les marquages photoluminescents et de veiller à leur bon fonctionnement. Ils devront être inspectés visuellement tous les 12 mois afin de visualiser les marquages défaillants et doivent rester propres en tout temps. Les marquages détériorés, décolorés, endommagés, mal fixés, usés ou mal étiquetés doivent être immédiatement remplacés ou réparés. Les propriétaires et gestionnaires d’immeubles doivent également vérifier régulièrement le fonctionnement des sources d’éclairage.

Implications pour les gestionnaires d’immeubles

Le guide de l’IRC-CNRC recèle de nombreux renseignements utiles pour les gestionnaires des immeubles fédéraux où les marquages photoluminescents sont requis et les propriétaires d’autres types d’immeubles qui souhaitent offrir des normes d’évacuation supérieures à celles du CNB.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l’installation des marquages photoluminescents, veuillez consulter le Guide d’installation de systèmes de signalisation photoluminescente dans les cages d’escaliers de bâtiments.


M. Noureddine Bénichou, Ph. D., est agent de recherche senior au sein du programme Recherche en incendie de l’Institut de recherche en construction du Conseil national de recherches du Canada.

Feu Guylène Proulx, Ph. D., était également agente de recherche senior au sein du même programme.

© 2011
Conseil national de recherches du Canada
Sept 2011
ISSN 1206-1239

Building Egress Using Photoluminescent Markings

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Construction Technology Update No. 78, September 2011

[PDF version]

by Noureddine Benichou and Guylene Proulx

The use of photoluminescent material systems in buildings is gaining acceptance in North America as a valuable safety feature for users of exits and stairwells in the event of power failure and the loss of emergency lighting. This Update describes the characteristics and installation of photoluminescent markings.

C.D. Howe Building in Ottawa

C.D. Howe Building in Ottawa

Introduction

Photoluminescent markings can be used to aid in the safe evacuation of buildings in the event of failure of both the power and back-up power for lighting and illuminated exit signs. The National Research Council - Institute for Research in Construction (NRC-IRC) has published a guide on the installation of photoluminescent material markings in buildings. The purpose of this Update is to provide a summary of the Guide to inform specifiers about the properties, uses, performance requirements and installation of photoluminescent material (PLM) markings in buildings.

In Canada, PLM markings have been developed primarily for federal office buildings. However, the requirements are applicable to other types of buildings that rely on enclosed exit stairways as means of egress.  The markings are in addition to, and not a substitute for, any other signage required under the National Building Code of Canada. All PLM marking installations should be reviewed and approved by the authority having jurisdiction.

PLM Characteristics

Photoluminescent material has the ability to absorb light energy and emit light for a period of time after the excitation light source is no longer active.  The material can be recharged  by re-exposure to light.  PLM markings are not designed to provide enough light to illuminate a dark egress path, but rather to provide luminescent direction signs and to outline the egress path, stairs, handrails, and obstacles, so that occupants can discern these features in dark conditions.

PLM markings were first used in remote locations such as offshore platforms. They have been installed in office buildings such as the former World Trade Center towers where their usefulness was demonstrated. They were tested in the C.D. Howe Building in Ottawa and are under consideration for other federal buildings. In blackout situations resulting from power failures, fires or other emergencies, PLM markings in the form of paint, plastic strips and signs can aid safe evacuation by guiding and directing people to designated exits or safer locations.

Design Principles for PLM Exit Path Markings

There are several general principles governing the design and installation of PLM markings. PLM markings should be placed in a continuous and unbroken manner along the escape routes of a building and should be spaced to provide consistent direction.

The NRC Guide specifies where to locate PLM markings: on exit door handles or opening devices, exit door frames, leading edges of steps, landings, handrails, exit signs, and obstacles. Continuous PLM marking should be provided inside each exit stairway. All firefighting and emergency equipment should be labelled with appropriate PLM signs to provide additional visual orientation cues to evacuees and information to firefighters.

The markings should clearly indicate intermediary and final destinations along an escape route and be placed so that a designated route is clear and there is no uncertainty or confusion during evacuation. They should direct evacuees away from dead ends toward designated places of safety.

Every storey of a building should have a floor evacuation plan made with PLM to help with directions and orientation. To avoid confusion, signs that are not intended to assist in safe evacuation (such as public information signs) should not be made of PLM and should be of different size and colour than PLM markings.

PLM markings should be a "safety" colour, which is usually green/yellow (the natural colour of PLM pigments). Signage needs to provide sufficient contrast between the symbols on the sign and the background of the sign to maintain visual characteristics. They should also have the appropriate luminance and contrast with the surrounding environment.

It is important that the activation illumination for energizing and charging PLM is adequate for this task.

Required PLM Properties

PLM materials are required to have a minimum brightness rating (BR) (mcd/m2) of at least 30.0 at 10 minutes, 7.0 at 60 minutes and 5.0 at 90 minutes. The material needs to meet the washability requirements of ASTM D 4828-1994 (2003), Standard Test Methods for Practical Washability of Organic Coatings.*

One test specimen of each distinct PLM product material needs to be tested in flaming and non-flaming modes to ensure toxicity does not exceed the limits set out in Bombardier SMP 800-C (Rev. 4, 11/1/2000), Toxic Gas Generation Test. The radioactivity of PLM material must not exceed the limits of ASTM D 3648-2004, Standard Practices for the Measurement of Radioactivity.*

Flame spread testing for PLM material must meet the requirements of ASTM E 162-2002, Standard Test Method for Surface Flammability of Materials Using a Radiant Heat Energy Source,* or ASTM D 635 2003, Standard Test Method for Rate of Burning and/or Extent and Time of Burning of Plastics in a Horizontal Position.*

The materials need to have sufficient resistance to abrasion. Certain thin films and paints may be sufficient where stairs have alarms and are only used in emergencies. Where occupants use stairs regularly, more-durable products should be specified. The slip resistance of PLM markings should not be less than the slip resistance of the existing surface on which the PLM is to be installed.

All approved PLMs are to be labelled with the model number and indicate testing by an independent laboratory to certify the following: brightness rating; washability; toxicity; radioactivity; flame spread; and activating illumination.

* These standards, while referenced in the NRC-IRC Guide, were all updated in recent years.

Installation Locations of PLM Markings

The recommended installation locations are based on the findings of a study conducted by NRC-IRC and Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) as follows:

Exit Doors at Exit Stairway Shafts

Figure 1. Exit sign

Figure 1. Exit sign

Markings are required on:

  • Doors opening to exits or exit passageways to an exit stair shaft;
  • Doors opening to corridors that serve as required exit passageways connecting two vertical exits; and
  • Doors serving as horizontal exits.

Markings are not required for exit at main-entrance doors.

The point of entry or door to exit a stairway shaft should be marked with a PLM exit sign made in safety green, with the standard emergency exit symbol (Figure 1) as indicated in the 2010 National Building Code of Canada (NBC 3.4.5.1.).

Door handles or opening devices on emergency exit doors should be highlighted with PLM. Doorknobs and latches should be marked by placing a piece of PLM behind the hardware or by applying a strip of PLM directly to push-pads, bars or panic hardware (Figure 2). The entire perimeter of the frame of exit doors should be marked with strips of PLM (Figure 2).

A PLM sign indicating the floor number and stairway name should be mounted permanently on the wall at the latch side of the door to an exit stair shaft.

Figure 2. Signs at exit doors: door-mounted (left) and wall-mounted (right)

Figure 2. Signs at exit doors: door-mounted (top) and wall-mounted (bottom)

 

Exit Stairs

Minimum requirements for exit stairs include markings within vertical exits (e.g., stairway, ramp), horizontal extensions in vertical exits (e.g., extended landing or corridor within a stairway), horizontal exits (e.g., bridge or tunnel between two buildings), supplemental vertical exits (e.g., stairway or ramp from an area of refuge), and exit passageways (e.g., passage leading from a yard or court to an exterior space). Such markings are not required in street level lobbies, exterior stairs, or exterior balconies.

The entire horizontal leading edge of each step should be marked with a solid and continuous strip of PLM. The dimensions, distances and locations should be consistent and uniform throughout the same exit (Figure 3). The strips should extend the full width of each step and must not create tripping or slipping hazards.

Figure 3. Stair strips

Figure 3. Stair strips

The leading edge of all landings (e.g., the platforms at the top of stairs) should be marked in a consistent and uniform manner throughout a given exit. Leading edge markings should follow the same requirements as for steps in size and location so that they are consistent with the strips on the steps, and extend the full length of the leading edge of the landing (Figure 4).

Figure 4. Marking on leading edges of landings

Figure 4. Marking on leading edges of landings

All handrails and handrail extensions should be marked with a solid and continuous strip of PLM. The dimensions, distances and locations should be consistent and uniform throughout the same exit (Figure 5).

Where handrails or handrail extensions bend or turn corners, PLM strips should be as continuous as practicable and no discontinuity should be greater than 100 mm. In existing buildings where handrail material or design makes it difficult to apply PLM on the top surface, a PLM strip at least 90 mm wide may be placed behind a handrail to silhouette it.

Figure 5. Handrail markings

Figure 5. Handrail markings

Stair landings and other parts of the egress route should be provided with floor perimeter demarcation lines. The continuity of the demarcation lines may be interrupted to accommodate obstructions such as conduits, mouldings, corners or bends, but discontinuities should not exceed 100 mm. The dimensions, distances and locations should be uniform and consistent throughout the same exit. Demarcation lines should be located on the floor, or on the walls/vertical surface, or a combination of the two.

Landings, mid-landings, passageways or corridors within a stairway should be marked in the centre line with a continuous strip of PLM (Figures 6 and 7). The direction of movement can be indicated with either a black or see-through chevron or arrow 25 mm wide at every metre and every change of direction.

If chevrons are used, the same pattern should be used on all the landings in an exit. Alternatively, the landing marking should be a solid strip of PLM throughout the installation.

Figure 6. Pathway marking line: floor-mounted option

Figure 6. Pathway marking line: floor-mounted option

Figure 7. Pathway marking line: wall-mounted option

Figure 7. Pathway marking line: wall-mounted option

Obstacles (e.g., standpipes, hose cabinets, wall projections, and restricted height areas) at or below 1980 mm in height and projecting more than 100 mm into an egress path should be outlined with PLM markings (Figure 8).

Figure 8. Obstacles and pathway marking lines

Figure 8. Obstacles and pathway marking lines

At a final exit door (a door leading directly to the exterior or a street level lobby), a door-mounted sign should contain text such as Final Exit, Exit through Lobby, Exit to Street, Exit to Chambers Street, etc. (Figure 9).

Figure 9. Intermediate and final exits

Figure 9. Intermediate and final exits

 

Additional Markings

PLM signs should be placed adjacent to an exit door inside the stairway to identify the floor number and the stairway number and/or name. PLM directional signs should be provided in safety green, including the word TRANSFER LEVEL or CROSSOVER FLOOR, and should be posted next to the exit door wherever re-entry to a floor or transfer to another means of egress is permitted.

Wherever direction is not clear, additional signage should be provided. NOT AN EXIT PLM signs should be placed on doors along the egress path that lead to dead ends (mechanical rooms, storage closets, etc.). In buildings where roof access is not possible for building occupants, PLM signs including the words NO ROOF ACCESS should be placed on mid-landing walls every three floors and on each of the five top floors of a stairway.

Maintenance of PLM Markings

PLM markings are usually affixed with adhesives for permanent installation. Building owners and managers should keep the required photoluminescent signs and markings in good repair. An inspection should be conducted at least every 12 months to identify any deficiencies. PLM markings should be kept clean. Signs and markings that are deteriorated, discoloured, damaged, loose, or that show signs of wear or missing labels should be scheduled for immediate replacement or repair. Illuminating sources should be checked for functionality.

Implications for Property Managers

Where PLM markings are required in federal buildings, the NRC-IRC Guide provides useful information for owners and managers of these buildings. PLM markings may also be employed by owners of other types of buildings where it is desired to provide exit security that exceeds minimum code requirements.

Additional specifications and installation details can be found in the publication Guide for the Installation of Photoluminescent Exit Stairway Markings in Buildings.


Dr. Noureddine Benichou is a senior research officer in the Fire Research program of the NRC Institute for Research in Construction.

The late Dr. Guylene Proulx was a senior research officer in the same program.

© 2011
National Research Council of Canada
September 2011