Decorative banner for Areas of research landing page

Areas of R&D

Contact an NRC expert in one of our areas of research.

Send a request for more information.



The NRC can help industry and government tackle strategic national priorities through mission-oriented research and technology development. The NRC's programs focus on issues of strategic importance to Canada and showcase the NRC's unique value proposition to deliver high impacts within a specified timeframe.

These programs are implemented to address the technology needs of existing and emerging sectors and deliver economical and immediately applicable solutions to technical and business challenges affecting the competitiveness of Canadian industry.

Looking for R&D opportunities?

See how through research partnerships, industry support and commercialization opportunities, industry partners can benefit from our expertise, services, facilities and licensing opportunities while increasing their own innovation potential.

Advanced electronics, photonics and digital technologies

The Advanced Electronics and Photonics and Digital Techonologies Research Centres will work with industry and government to develop leading edge technology and systems across the technology readiness scale, support the growth and adoption of digital technologies and increase the competitiveness and effectiveness of Canadian firms and government departments and agencies.

Aerospace

The Aerospace Research Centre will provide facilities and expertise to industry and government agencies resulting in a constant stream of fresh ideas, new technologies and development and demonstration of products and processes targeting the strategic and market challenges faced by the Canadian aerospace sector.

Aquatic and crop resource development

The Aquatic and Crop Resource Development Research Centre will assist industry to transform aquatic and crop resources by developing innovative technologies leading to value-added products, increasing productivity, and improving sustainability.

Astronomy and astrophysics

The Herzberg Astronomy and Astrophysics Research Centre will operate and administer leading-edge facilities to optimize the capture of economic and other benefits from their construction and operation and ensure the facilities effectively support Canadian science and the training and attraction of highly qualified researchers.

Automotive and surface transportation

The Automotive and Surface Transportation Research Centre will work with industry across the supply chain to develop, validate and deploy advanced and agile technologies to manufacture lighter, more fuel efficient, environmentally-friendly and more economical to operate vehicles. It will also provide unique, vehicle-centric infrastructure and expertise to provide testing and experimentation services, vehicle/track interface and surface mobility technologies and value‑added engineering solutions that address the complex problems facing the rail and heavy duty vehicle transportation sectors.

Construction

The Construction Research Centre will provide support to develop research-and technology-based solutions and services that enable Canada's construction industry to achieve higher performing, affordable buildings and infrastructure, and accelerate technology commercialization.

Energy, mining and environment

The Energy, Mining and Environment Research Centre will support Canadian companies along the value chain involved in extracting and processing Canada's natural resources: in energy (fossil and renewable), in metals such as aluminum, copper and zinc and in non-metals such as diamond and phosphate. It will provide R&D, higher-value products as well as innovative solutions to mitigate environmental risks and increase global competitiveness.

Human health therapeutics

The Human Health Therapeutics Research Centre will work with Canadian-based SMEs and multi-nationals to develop and manufacture therapeutics, vaccines and diagnostics and enable Canadian SMEs to increase market capitalization, create jobs, and generate new product sales.

Measurement science and standards

The Measurement Science and Standards Research Centre will maintain the national measurement system; support the measurement related trade, product development, environment and health and regulatory needs of public and private-sector stakeholders; develop and make available, timely solutions for emerging technologies; and meet the evolving needs of mature industrial sectors.

Medical devices

The Medical Devices Research Centre will work with Canadian SMEs to develop small, low cost medical technologies which provide rapid, sensitive, accurate and low-cost solutions that are globally competitive.

Nanotechnology

The Nanotechnology Research Centre will devise nano-enabled solutions that meet scalability, integration, manufacturability and environmental health and safety requirements for product development. As an enabling technology, nanotechnology translates into several industry sectors, including energy, transport and security.

Ocean, coastal and river engineering

The Ocean, Coastal and River Engineering Research Centre will provide facilities and technological expertise to assist industry and government to improve the management and performance of vehicles, infrastructure and systems that operate in Canada's oceans, coastal regions and river systems.

Security and disruptive technologies

The Security and Disruptive Technologies Research Centre will build research and technology development capacity in critical emergent areas important to Canada, develop technology solutions for clients and provide client access to specialised scientific infrastructure.

Date modified:

Bannière decorative pour la page des secteurs scientifiques

Secteurs de R-D

Communiquez avec un expert dans un de nos domaines de recherche.



Le CNRC aide l’industrie et le gouvernement à s’attaquer aux priorités stratégiques nationales en poursuivant des recherches et en développant des technologies dans un but précis. Les programmes du CNRC mettent l’accent sur les questions d’une importance capitale pour le Canada et font ressortir la proposition de valeur unique de l’organisme, qui est d’exercer un impact marqué dans des délais spécifiques.

Ces programmes sont mis en œuvre en vue de répondre aux besoins technologiques des secteurs existants ou émergents, et de trouver des solutions économiques, applicables sur-le-champ, aux difficultés techniques et commerciales qui nuisent à la compétitivité de l’industrie canadienne.

En quête d’occasions en R-D?

Voyez comment nos partenaires industriels profitent de notre savoir-faire, de nos services, de nos installations et de nos licences d’exploitation tout en accroissant leur propre capacité d’innover par la recherche coopérative, le soutien à l’industrie et les possibilités de commercialisation.

Aérospatiale

Ce portefeuille du CNRC procurera à l’industrie et aux agences du gouvernement les installations et l’expertise voulues pour engendrer un flot constant d’idées neuves et de nouvelles technologies, ainsi que pour faciliter le développement et la démonstration de produits et de procédés susceptibles de répondre aux enjeux stratégiques et commerciaux du secteur canadien de l’aérospatiale.

Développement des cultures et des ressources aquatiques

Ce portefeuille du CNRC aidera l’industrie à transformer les ressources aquatiques et agricoles en développant des technologies d’avant-garde qui aboutiront à des produits à valeur ajoutée, accroîtront le rendement et rehausseront la durabilité.

Automobile et transport de surface

Ce portefeuille du CNRC œuvrera avec l’industrie à la grandeur de la chaîne d’approvisionnement pour mettre au point, valider et déployer les technologies évoluées et adaptables, indispensables à la fabrication de véhicules plus légers, à meilleur rendement énergétique et plus écologiques, qui coûteront moins cher à faire rouler. Il proposera également une infrastructure et une expertise uniques, articulées sur les véhicules, mais aussi des services d’expérimentation, des technologies se rapportant à l’interface véhicule/sol et à la mobilité en surface, et des solutions techniques à valeur ajoutée qui répondront aux problèmes complexes auxquels se heurtent les secteurs des transports ferroviaires et des véhicules lourds.

Construction

Ce portefeuille du CNRC dispensera au secteur canadien du bâtiment le soutien dont il a besoin pour élaborer les solutions et les services scientifiques et technologiques avec lesquels il érigera des édifices et des infrastructures plus performants et moins onéreux, ainsi que commercialisera plus rapidement les technologies.

Énergie, mines et environnement

Ce portefeuille du CNRC prêtera assistance aux sociétés canadiennes présentes le long de la chaîne de valeur qui extraient et transforment les ressources naturelles du Canada : les ressources énergétiques (les sources fossiles et renouvelables), les ressources en minéraux métalliques tels que l’aluminium, le cuivre et le zinc et en minéraux non métalliques tels que le diamant et les phosphates. Le CNRC procurera des services de R-D, des produits à valeur ajoutée ainsi que des solutions innovatrices pour atténuer les risques environnementaux et accroître la compétitivité dans le monde.

Thérapeutiques en santé humaine

Ce portefeuille du CNRC coopérera avec les PME et les multinationales canadiennes afin qu’elles élaborent puis fabriquent des produits thérapeutiques, des vaccins et des outils de diagnostic. Il permettra aux PME canadiennes d’accroître la capitalisation boursière, de créer des emplois et d’augmenter leurs ventes.

Technologies de l’information et des communications

Ce portefeuille du CNRC travaillera avec l’industrie et le gouvernement pour créer des technologies et des système de pointe à tous les stades de disponibilité opérationnelle, de manière à faciliter l’essor et l’adoption des technologies numériques ainsi que pour rehausser la compétitivité et l’efficacité des entreprises canadiennes et des ministères et agences du gouvernement.

Science des mesures et étalons

Ce portefeuille du CNRC veillera au système national de mesures. Il appuiera la profession de la métrologie, élaborera des produits, satisfera aux besoins des intervenants des secteurs public et privé sur le plan de la réglementation en matière d’environnement et de santé, élaborera des solutions pour les technologies émergentes afin de les dispenser en temps opportun et répondra aux besoins en perpétuelle évolution des secteurs industriels parvenus à maturité.

Dispositifs médicaux

Ce portefeuille du CNRC travaillera avec les PME canadiennes pour mettre au point de petites technologies médicales peu coûteuses qui proposeront des solutions rapides, sensibles et précises, mais aussi bon marché et concurrentielles à l’échelle du globe.

CNRC Herzberg, Astronomie et astrophysique

Ce portefeuille du CNRC exploitera et administrera les installations à la fine pointe de la science afin d’optimiser les retombées économiques et autres qui découlent de leur érection et de leur utilisation. Il s’assurera aussi que ces installations soutiennent correctement la science canadienne tout en facilitant la formation et en attirant des chercheurs hautement qualifiés.

Génie océanique, côtier et fluvial

Ce portefeuille du CNRC procurera les installations et l’expertise technique nécessaires à l’industrie et au gouvernement pour rehausser la gestion et la performance des véhicules, des infrastructures et des systèmes qui émaillent les océans, les régions côtières et les réseaux fluviaux du Canada.

Technologies de sécurité et de rupture

Ce portefeuille du CNRC montera des services de recherche et de développement technologique dans des secteurs émergents d’une importance cruciale pour le Canada. Il élaborera des solutions technologiques pour ses clients et permettra à ceux-ci d’accéder à une infrastructure scientifique spécialisée.

Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :
Avis de confidentialité