National Research Council Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Palladium

Warning Information found on this page has been archived and is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Please visit NRC's new site for the most recent information.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.


46
Pd
106.42
Palladium

Palladium

Palladium is mainly used as a catalyst in the chemical industry. However, this metal also has other applications. Palladium has superb corrosion resistance, and it is used in dentistry for tooth crowns. The presence of ruthenium or rhodium hardens palladium, resulting in applications such as a decolorizing agent of gold – the so-called "white gold" in jewellery.

Did you know?
  • Palladium is so malleable that it can be flattened into a leaf as thin as 1/250000 of an inch.
 

Palladium has no biological role, and all of its compounds should be considered highly toxic and carcinogenic. Interestingly, palladium chloride was once prescribed as a treatment for tuberculosis without too many side effects observed.

Conseil national de recherches Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Palladium

Avertissement L'information sur cette page a été archivée et n'est conservée qu'aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers. Visitez le nouveau site du CNRC pour y trouver les informations les plus récentes.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.


46
Pd
106,42
palladium

Palladium

Le palladium est principalement utilisé comme catalyseur dans l'industrie chimique, mais il a aussi d'autres applications. Il offre notamment une très grande résistance à la corrosion et est par conséquent utilisé en médecine dentaire pour la fabrication de couronnes dentaires. L'ajout de ruthénium ou de rhodium durcit le palladium et donne des alliages qui offrent diverses applications, notamment en joaillerie où, en décolorant l'or, le palladium produit « l'or blanc ».

Le saviez-vous?
  • Le palladium est si malléable qu'on peut le façonner en une feuille mesurant à peine 1/250 000 pouce d'épaisseur.
 

Le palladium ne joue aucun rôle biologique, et tous ses composés doivent être considérés comme hautement toxiques et cancérogènes. Fait intéressant, toutefois, le chlorure de palladium fut à une époque prescrit pour traiter la tuberculose, sans observation d'effets secondaires.