National Research Council Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada
Dimensions

ARCHIVED - Video of the Fuel Cell and Hydrogen Technologies Cluster Initiative in Vancouver, British Columbia

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.


With 2,000 highly skilled workers and producing more than 100 graduate students per year, the Vancouver fuel cell and hydrogen technology cluster is able to provide its 40 lead companies with substantial talent to support the development of a globally competitive industry.

Learn more about Vancouver's Fuel Cell and Hydrogen Technologies Cluster (via NRC corporate website).

Video preview image

Video length: 2:02 min
Important Notices

Video Transcript

Narrator: Public demand for cleaner skies and cleaner energy sources is driving fuel cell and hydrogen technology to the forefront of science achievement.

The National Research Council is at the centre of a technology cluster in Vancouver that combines the expertise of government scientists, industry leaders and university researchers in creating zero-emission energy products.

John Tak (President & CEO, Canadian Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Association): The NRC plays an important role in that braintrust in that they have direct relations with the universities, and there's a fluid flow of that braintrust between companies and the NRC.

Narrator: The result of this partnership is cutting edge hydrogen and fuel cell technologies - developed, tested and readied for commercial markets.

Ballard Power Systems is at work now, providing one of the world's biggest market applications of fuel cell technology. In partnership with Ida Tech, Ballard is supplying backup power generators for cell phone towers in India.

Chris Guzy (VP Operations & Chief Technology Officer, Ballard Power Systems): What NRC does is quite important for us. They provide things that each individual company couldn't do for themselves and that's the power of the facility itself.

Narrator: Ballard and other cluster partners have contracts to supply clean energy fuel cell systems in Asia, Europe and North America.

British Columbia's hydrogen highway is just the starting point for the fuel cell and hydrogen technology cluster. Its partnership is reaching out to world wide commercial markets, creating jobs at home and providing clean energy alternatives.

For more information on the fuel cell and hydrogen technology cluster, please visit nrc.gc.ca

A message from the Government of Canada. End

Conseil national de recherches Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada
Dimensions

ARCHIVÉ - Vidéo de la grappe technologique des piles à combustible et de l'hydrogène de Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.


Avec au-delà de 2 000 travailleurs hautement qualifiés et la formation de plus d'une centaine de diplômés par année, la grappe des piles à combustible et des technologies de l'hydrogène de Vancouver procure aux 40 entreprises majeures qui la composent les talents essentiels au développement d'une industrie mondialement concurrentielle.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la grappe technologique des piles à combustible et de l'hydrogène de Vancouver (au site corporatif du CNRC).

Video preview image

Durée de la bande : 2:03 min
Avis importants

Transcription de la bande

Narrateur : Le désir qu'a le public d'avoir une atmosphère et des sources d'énergie plus saines propulse les technologies des piles à combustible et de l'hydrogène à l'avant-plan des réalisations scientifiques.

À Vancouver, le CNRC est au cœur d'une grappe technologique qui allie l'expertise de scientifiques du gouvernement, de meneurs de l'industrie et de chercheurs universitaires dans la création de produits à émission zéro.

John Tak (Président-directeur général, Association canadienne de l'hydrogène et des piles à combustible) : Le CNRC joue un rôle important au sein de ce groupe d'experts puisqu'il entretient des relations directes avec les universités, et il existe un échange fluide d'expertise entres les entreprises et le CNRC.

Narrateur : Ce partenariat mène à la création de technologies de l'hydrogène et des piles à combustible de pointe élaborées, mises à l'essai et préparées pour les marchés commerciaux.

Ballard Power Systems travaille maintenant à fournir une des plus grandes applications du marché mondial des technologies des piles à combustible. En partenariat avec Ida Tech, elle fournit des générateurs de renfort pour des stations cellulaires en Inde.

Chris Guzy (Vice-président de l'exploitation et chef des technologies, Ballard Power Systems) : Ce que le CNRC fait nous importe grandement. Il fournit des choses que chaque entreprise ne pourrait faire individuellement pour elle-même. C'est là, la plus grande force de l'installation.

Narrateur : Ballard et d'autres partenaires de la grappe ont des ententes d'approvisionnement de piles à combustible à énergie propre en Asie, en Europe et en Amérique du Nord.

L'Autoroute de l'hydrogène en Colombie-Britannique n'est qu'un début pour l'initiative de la grappe technologique des piles à combustible et de l'hydrogène. Son partenariat s'étend dans des marchés mondiaux, ce qui permet de créer de l'emploi au Canada et d'offrir de nouvelles sources d'énergie propre.

Pour plus d'information sur la grappe technologique des piles à combustible et de l'hydrogène, veuillez visiter le cnrc.gc.ca.

Un message du gouvernement du Canada. Fin