National Research Council Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada
Dimensions

ARCHIVED - Video of the Aluminium Transformation Cluster Initiative in Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean, Quebec

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.


Aluminium transformation is critical to Quebec's economy; in past years it has represented more than nine percent of the province's total exports. A burgeoning technology cluster in Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean is working to design and manufacture value-added aluminium products-and create additional companies and jobs in the area.

Learn more about Saguenay's Aluminium Transformation Cluster (via NRC corporate website).

Video preview image

Video length: 2:03 min
Important Notices

Video Transcript

Narrator: Saguenay, Quebec. The heart of the Aluminium Valley. This is where the world's largest aluminium producer RIO Tinto ALCAN casts half of Canada's aluminium products.

Many of the machines and processes used here have been developed locally by small and medium sized suppliers such as STAS Industries. STAS is also working closely with

NRC researchers to develop next generation processes - such as semi-solid aluminium. It's a more efficient way to rapidly die-cast parts for the auto industry.

Pierre Bouchard (President, STAS Industries): This is very important for us and other SMEs. No individual SME, not even a multinational, could afford facilities like they have here with the infrastructure, personnel, equipment, history and network capabilities.

Narrator: This vibrant technology cluster is a partnership between industry, universities and the NRC to move beyond primary aluminium production and export new value-added products. NRC testing of advanced designs for industry include laser welding and friction welding, along with new structures for impact absorption. The designs have wide spread applications for the transport and construction industries.

Luc Roby (General Manager, Aluminium Valley Society): The National Research Council has the capacity to help the small, medium enterprises to increase their degree of innovation and bring on the market a high quality of product.

Narrator: For more information on the Aluminium Transformation Technology Cluster, please visit nrc.gc.ca.

A message from the Government of Canada. End

Conseil national de recherches Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada
Dimensions

ARCHIVÉ - Vidéo de la grappe technologique, secteur de la transformation de l'aluminium - Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean, Québec

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.


La transformation de l'aluminium est vitale à l'économie québécoise. En effet, depuis quelques années, cette industrie représente plus de neuf pour cent des exportations totales de la province. Une grappe technologique en plein essor au Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean conçoit et fabrique des produits à valeur ajoutée en aluminium; ce qui favorise la création de nouvelles entreprises et d'emplois dans la région.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la grappe en transformation de l'aluminium de Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean (au site corporatif du CNRC).

Video preview image

Durée de la bande : 2:02 min
Avis importants

Transcription de la bande

Narrateur : Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean, Québec... La Vallée de l'aluminium! C'est là où le plus grand producteur mondial d'aluminium, RIO Tinto ALCAN, coule la moitié de toute l'aluminium produite au Canada.

Bon nombre de machines et de procédés employés ici ont été développés localement par des petites et moyennes entreprises tels que STAS incorporé. Cette société collabore aussi étroitement avec les chercheurs du CNRC pour élaborer des procédés de prochaine génération comme le moulage de l'aluminium à l'état semi-solide, destiné à l'industrie automobile.

Pierre Bouchard (Président, STAS) : C'est très important d'avoir ça pour nous et pour les autres PME. Il n'y a aucune PME, même pas des multinationales, qui pourraient se payer des installations individuelles comme ici, avec l'infrastructure, le personnel, les équipements, l'historique et le réseau de connexions qu'ils ont.

Narrateur : La grappe technologique de l'aluminium est un véritable partenariat entre les industriels, les gouvernements, les maisons d'enseignements, les centres de liaisons et de support ainsi que le CNRC afin de dépasser la production primaire d'aluminium pour exporter des produits et du savoir faire à valeur ajoutée. Les essais de conceptions et fabrication avancées que mène le CNRC incluent la soudure au laser, la soudure par friction-malaxage ainsi que les études sur des structures pour l'absorption des chocs, qui ont des applications étendues dans les industries du transport et de la construction.

Luc Roby (Directeur général, Société de la Vallée de l'aluminium) : Le Conseil national de recherches du Canada peut aider les petites et moyennes entreprises à améliorer leur degré d'innovation et à mettre en marché un produit de grande qualité.

Narrateur : Pour plus d'information sur la grappe des technologies de la transformation de l'aluminium, veuillez visiter le cnrc.gc.ca.

Un message du gouvernement du Canada. Fin