National Research Council Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada
Dimensions

ARCHIVED - Video of the Nutrisciences and Health Cluster Initiative in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.


As global markets for pharmaceuticals, nutraceuticals and other health-related products grow, a burgeoning technology cluster in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island is attracting the world's best and brightest talent. NRC partners with the community to help growing companies commercialize their innovations and enter the international health-products market.

Learn more about Charlottetown's nutrisciences and health technology cluster (via NRC corporate website).

Video preview image

Video length: 2:03 min
Important Notices

Video Transcript

Narrator: Scientists at the Nutrisciences and Health cluster in Charlottetown are tackling some of the toughest problems facing people today.

The cluster, supported by the National Research Council, is finding solutions to health conditions such as Alzheimer’s Disease, Stroke and Diabetes – important issues as our population ages.

The Charlottetown cluster is a partnership of the PEI Bio-Alliance, universities, business and science agencies. Much of the research on human and animal health is done collaboratively at NRC’s Institute for Nutrisciences and Health.

Rory Francis (Executive Director, PEI BioAlliance): There's a bigger goal in terms of developing the cluster, developing successful business, creating breakthroughs in science. Attitude is a big part of what makes this successful collaboration. So the investment that the federal government is making an excellent return here in Prince Edward Island.

Narrator: The collaborative approach and strong science base is attracting major pharmaceutical companies like Novartis and Genzyme to the cluster initiative. Small startups such as Chemaphor have also signed on as industrial partners. Chemaphor studies bioactive compounds found in nature to develop alternatives for antibiotics in feed animals. The goal: make our food chain healthier and transform an island economy into an inventor of products to improve human and animal health.

David Hankinson (Chair, Chemaphor): You need specialized equipment, you need people who have the scientific background. And you need to be able to bounce ideas off people. We can do all of that here with the NRC cluster. I think we're really doing something for humanity here.

Narrator: For more information on PEI's Nutrisciences and Health Technology Cluster, please visit nrc.gc.ca.

A message from the Government of Canada. End

Conseil national de recherches Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada
Dimensions

ARCHIVÉ - Vidéo de la grappe technologique, secteur des sciences nutritionnelles et de la santé - Charlottetown, Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.


Le marché mondial des substances pharmaceutiques, des nutraceutiques et des autres produits de santé est en pleine expansion. Ainsi, la jeune grappe technologique du secteur des sciences nutritionnelles et de la santé attire les esprits les plus brillants de la planète. Le CNRC s'est associé à la collectivité pour aider les entreprises qui démarrent à exploiter leurs innovations et à percer sur le marché international des produits de santé.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la grappe des sciences nutritionnelles et de la santé de Charlottetown (au site corporatif du CNRC).

Video preview image

Durée de la bande : 2:02 min
Avis importants

Transcription de la bande

Narrateur : Les scientifiques de la grappe des sciences nutritionnelles et de la santé à Charlottetown s’attaquent à certains des plus difficiles problèmes pour la population contemporaine.

Soutenue par le Conseil national de recherches du Canada, la grappe trouve des solutions à des troubles de la santé tels la maladie d’Alzheimer, l’accident cérébrovasculaire et le diabète, qui s’aggravent avec le vieillissement de la population.

La grappe de Charlottetown est le résultat d’un partenariat réussi entre PEI BioAlliance, des universités, des entreprises et des organismes scientifiques. Une grande partie des recherches sur la santé humaine et animale se fait en collaboration avec l’Institut des sciences nutritionnelles et de la santé du CNRC.

Rory Francis (Directeur général, PEI BioAlliance) : Il existe un but plus élevé en termes de développement de la grappe, soit de développer des entreprises qui réussissent, d’arriver à des découvertes scientifiques. L’attitude joue un grand rôle dans le succès de la collaboration. L’investissement du gouvernement fédéral porte vraiment fruit ici, à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Narrateur : La stratégie de collaboration et la base scientifique solide attirent des grandes sociétés pharmaceutiques telles Novartis et Genzyme à l’initiative de la grappe. De petites entreprises en démarrage comme Chemaphor s’y sont aussi jointes à titre de partenaires de l’industrie. Chemaphor étudie les composés bioactifs que l’on trouve dans la nature en vue de développer des solutions de rechange aux antibiotiques pour les animaux qu’on consomme. Le but : assainir notre chaîne alimentaire et transformer une économie insulaire en inventeur de produits pertinents pour la santé humaine et animale sur le plan mondial.

David Hankinson (Président, Chemaphor) : Il faut de l’équipement spécialisé, du personnel qui ont les antécédents en sciences et être en mesure de valider des idées avec les gens. On peut faire tout ça ici avec la grappe du CNRC. Je pense que nous faisons vraiment quelque chose pour l’humanité ici.

Narrateur : Pour plus d’information sur la grappe des sciences nutritionnelles et de la santé de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, veuillez visiter le cnrc.gc.ca.

Un message du gouvernement du Canada. Fin